In The Beginning…
The First Unitarian Church of Roanoke was formed February 28, 1914. It existed for 14 years, but then disbanded when its minister retired. Unitarianism did not return to the Roanoke Valley until 1954; when the Unitarian Association sent a speaker to explore the possibility of establishing a fellowship here. The first meetings were held at the Patrick Henry Hotel. The group later moved to the YWCA and continue to meet there for several years.
In 1959, the nine-family congregation rented (and later purchased) a small country church on the outskirts of town. Built in 1854, the building was white brick and clapboard outside, with an intimate sanctuary. An addition built in 1968-69 was used as a fellowship hall and Genesis Art Gallery.
In 1984, the congregation purchased the current building on Grandin Road to accommodate a growing membership. In 2017, the building was updated with state-of-the-art technology. Many physical improvements were made, as well.
Who We Are
The Unitarian Universalist Church of Roanoke (UUCR) has been a center of progressive faith in the Roanoke Valley for over 50 years. The members strive to practice their faith by being a force for good in the world.
UUCR is a growing congregation. We are a diverse group representing different age groups, ethnic and religious backgrounds, and sexual orientation. Singles, couples, and families alike, have found a place where they can share common values and interests and find lifelong friendships.
We’re committed to engaging and connecting with one another and others, believing that together we can make the difference in people’s lives. Through joining in worship, fellowship, and acts of service, we strive to make justice, hope, and love known in the Roanoke Valley and beyond.
Our congregation is open and welcoming to anyone wishing for a safe place to explore their spirituality at their own pace.